Welcome to the

Philippine Peace Center


 Home | Global Peace | Peace Negotiations | ILPS Commission on Peace | Articles | Publications | Photo Gallery | Pilgrims for Peace



102 lawmakers urge Duterte to continue peace talks


RAPPLER.COM : by Mara Cepeda
February 09, 2017

MANILA, Philippines – A total of 102 lawmakers led by the House Makabayan bloc signed a resolution urging President Rodrigo Duterte to continue the peace negotiations with communist rebels.

The Makabayan bloc legislators filed House Resolution (HR) Number 769 on Thursday, February 9. Four days before, the President scrapped the peace talks after the New People's Army (NPA) withdrew from a 5-month-old ceasefire.

The government also issued a notice to cancel an agreement giving some rebels immunity from arrest – the Joint Agreement on Safety and Immunity Guarantees (JASIG). (READ: Rebels reject 'improper' notice to cancel talks, JASIG)

According to the congressmen, the President should continue the peace talks because the "Duterte administration [has] reached remarkable and unparalleled headway" compared to past administrations.

"Terminating the same would only put to waste the unprecedented, positive and substantial gains the peace talks have reached," said the lawmakers.

"It is highly imperative that this Congress hear the Filipino people's desire to support the resumption of the peace negotiations. It is just and lasting peace itself that is the very compelling reason to continue the peace negotiations," they added.

Bayan Muna Representative Carlos Isagani Zarate said there is a 30-day window before the cancellation of the JASIG will take place.

"Kami ay may nakikita pang puwang na may mababalik sa track ang peace process. At kailangang samantalahin natin ang opportunity na ito," said Zarate in a press conference.

(We still see a window for the peace process to get back on track. We need to take advantage of this opportunity.)

The full list of lawmakers who signed HR 769 as of early afternoon of February 9 are as follows:

  1. Deputy Speaker Ferdinand Hernandez, South Cotabato 2nd District

  2. Deputy Speaker Eric Singson, Ilocos Sur 2nd District

  3. Arlene Brosas, Gabriela Women's Party (Makabayan)

  4. France Castro, ACT Teachers (Makabayan)

  5. Ariel Casilao, Anakpawis (Makabayan)

  6. Emmi de Jesus, Gabriela Women’s Party (Makabayan)

  7. Sarah Elago, Kabataan (Makabayan)

  8. Antonio Tinio, ACT Teachers (Makabayan)

  9. Carlos Isagani Zarate, Bayan Muna (Makabayan)

  10. Harlin Neil Abayon III, Aangat Tayo

  11. Rodrigo Abellanosa, Cebu City 2nd District

  12. Pedro Acharon, South Cotabato 1st District

  13. Maria Lourdes Aggabao, Isabela 4th District

  14. Rodolfo Albano III, Isabela 1st Distrct

  15. Jorge Almonte, Misamis Occidental 1st District

  16. Michaelina Antonio, Agbiag

  17. Arlene Arcillas-Nazareno, Laguna 1st District

  18. Rosemarie Arenas, Pangasinan 3rd District

  19. Erico Aumentado, Bohol 2nd Distrct

  20. Leopoldo Bataoil, Pangasinan 2nd District

  21. Rodel Batocabe, AKO Bicol

  22. Jose Christopher Belmonte, Quezon City 6th District

  23. Joseph Sto Niño Bernos, Abra

  24. John Bertiz, ACTS-OFW

  25. Lianda Bolilia, Batangas 4th Distrct

  26. Gabriel Bordado Jr, Camarines Sur 3rd District

  27. Anthony Bravo, COO-NATCCO

  28. Maria Vida Espinosa-Bravo, Masbate 1st Distrct

  29. Eleanor Bulut-Begtang, Apayao

  30. Luis Campos, Makati City 2nd District

  31. Sabiniana Canama, COOP-NATCCO

  32. Aurora Enerio-Cerilles, Zamboanga del Sur 2nd District

  33. Maria Theresa Collantes, Batangas 3rd District

  34. Jonas Cortes, Cebu 3rd District

  35. Vincent Crisologo, Quezon City 1st District

  36. Luisa Lloren Cuaresma, Nueva Vizcaya

  37. Leo Rafael Cueva, Negros Occidental 2nd District

  38. Eugene de Vera, Arts Business and Science Professionals

  39. Raul del Mar, Cebu City 1st District

  40. Monsour del Rosario, Makati City 1st District

  41. Cherry Deloso-Montalla, Zambales 2nd District

  42. Ramon Durano VI, Cebu 5th District

  43. Napolen Dy, Isabela 3rd District

  44. Sandra Eriguel, La Union 2nd District

  45. Evelina Escudero, Sorsogon 1st District

  46. Juliet Ferrer, Negros Occidental 4th District

  47. Lawrence Fortun, Agusan del Norte 1st District

  48. Alfredo Garbin Jr, AKO Bicol

  49. Ruwel Peter Gonzaga, Compostela Valley 2nd District

  50. Fernando Gonzalez, Albay 3rd District

  51. Alexandria Gonzales, Mandaluyong

  52. Mark Go, Baguio City

  53. Seth Frederick Jalosjos, Zamboanga del Norte 1st Distrt

  54. Elisa Kho, Masbate 2nd District

  55. Virgilio Lacson, MANILA Teachers

  56. Edcel Lagman, Albay 1st Distrct

  57. Delphine Lee, AGRI

  58. Benjur Lopez Jr, YACAP

  59. Dale Malapitan, Caloocan City 1st Distrct

  60. Allen Jesse Mangaoang, Kalinga

  61. Rodante Marcoleta, 1-SAGIP

  62. Evelyn Plaza-Mellana, Agusan del Sur

  63. Raymond Mendoza, TUCP

  64. Alejandro Mirasol, Negros Occidental 5th District

  65. Ramon Nolasco, Cagayan 1st Distrct

  66. Henry Oaminal, Misamis Occidental 2nd District

  67. Eric Olivarez, Parañaque 1st Distrct

  68. Edwin Ong, Northern Samar 2nd Distrct

  69. Pablo Ortega, La Union

  70. Rogelio Pacquiao, Sarangani

  71. Joseph Stephen Paduano, Abang Lingkod

  72. Wilter Palma, Zamboanga Sibugay 1st Distrct

  73. Jose Panganiban Jr. ANAC-IP

  74. Marisol Panotes, Camarines Norte 2nd District

  75. Mauyag Papandayan Jr, Lanao del Sur

  76. Johnny Pimentel, Surigao del Sur 2nd District

  77. Enrico Pineda, 1PACMAN

  78. Aileen Radaza, Lapu-Lapu City

  79. Isidro Rodriguez Jr, Rizal 2nd District

  80. Geraldine Roman, Bataan 1st Distrct

  81. Harry Roque, Kabayan

  82. Rogelio Roque, Bukidnon 4th District

  83. Jesus Sacdalan, Cotabato 1st District

  84. Ron Salo, Kabayan

  85. Orestes Salon, AGRI

  86. Joey Salceda, Albay 2nd District

  87. Federico Sandoval II, Malabon

  88. Vilma Santos-Recto, Batangas 6th District

  89. Deogracias Victor Savellano, Ilocos Sur 1st District

  90. Bai Sandra Sema, Maguindanao 1st District

  91. Frederick Siao, Iligan

  92. Anna Marie Villaraza-Suarez, ALONA

  93. Jose Tejada, Cotabato 3rd District

  94. Randolph Ting, Cagayan 3rd District

  95. Arnel Ty, LPGMA

  96. Carlos Roman Uybarreta, 1-CARE

  97. Baby Aline Vargas-Alfonso, Cagayan 2nd District

  98. Rosanna Vergara, Nueva Ecija 3rd District

  99. Noel Villanueva, Tarlac 3rd District

  100. Micaela Violago, Nueva Ecija 2nd District

  101. Melecio Yap, Negros Occidental 1st District

  102. Manuel Zubiri, Bukidnon 3rd District

– Rappler.com






About Us

Contact Us




Photos used in this site were taken from Google, Yahoo, Bulatlat, Arkibong Bayan